July 1 is the beginning of the fiscal year for 46 states, including Oregon, marking the start of numerous new laws.
California and Washington now require drivers to use a headset or other hands-free options if they want to drive and talk on the phone.
The state of Washington has also increased lower court civil limits. The maximum claim amount that can be heard at the District Court level is now $75,000. The Superiour Court minimum level remains at $50, 000. This means that cases can be filed at either court if they involve an amount over $50K but under $75K.